UK traffic light system
Travel News

UK traffic light system: Travel restrictions set to be dismissed for the double jabbed

According to the UK traffic light system, Brits who were double jabbed and returning to the UK from amber-listed countries might be able to avoid quarantine from as early as 19 July following strategies to launch a new vaccine passport scheme.

As of the moment, those arriving in the UK must follow stringent rules despite the status of their vaccines. Anyone coming back from amber-listed or red-listed countries is obliged to isolate for 10 days. However, Travel bosses have called to ease travel rules.

The UK traffic light system for international travel is still in force. Currently, lesser than 30 destinations are on the green list. This means that travellers would not require to self-isolate upon returning to the UK. Although, they do have to bear the cost of Covid tests.

50 plus countries mentioned on the red list require returnees to pay for their hotel as they self-isolate for 10 days.

Similarly, travellers arriving from destinations from amber-listed countries, also need to quarantine for 10 days and pay for tests.

The government has already stated that it hopes to scrap the need to quarantine for the fully vaccinated. As well as those returning from countries on the amber list.

However, these plans are yet to be discussed on when international travel will resume, how it should work out when it should occur, and if unvaccinated children could also avoid quarantine if their parents have taken both jabs.

Additionally, relaxing the restrictions on quarantine for travellers, Chancellor Rishi Sunak said that the health secretary considered a more proportionate and balanced approach to quarantine for Covid contacts.

Mr Sunak also stated that he knows the people’s frustrations with this matter and has spoken to the health secretary. 

The transport secretary Grant Shapps’s update on travel will take place in the House of Commons.

The UK traffic light system applies to those in England. At the same time, Scotland, Wales, and Northern Ireland will make their precepts.

However, the rules are broadly the same, and all four nations have adopted previous changes to the lists.


Related posts

Travel Updates: Three Major Destinations Reopening & La Palma’s Volcano Eruption Continues!

Linish Jay

Mauritius to Reopen Borders in a Three-Phased Process to Travellers

Fallon Sarah

Bristol Airport revealed the newest routes to Hurghada and Frankfurt

Olivia Anderson

Leave a Comment