green travel list
Travel News

The UK releases green travel list for foreign holidays

People in the UK will be permitted to take holidays overseas in a small number of countries that made it onto the green travel list from the 17th of May. The government has categorised and listed countries into three sections – Green, Amber and Red. 

🟢  Green List Countries:

Travellers getting back from a country on the green travel list will not need to quarantine and are only required to take one PCR test post-arrival. For example, Portugal intends to welcome travellers from the UK who have had a negative PCR test, or recovered from the virus recently or had both doses of a vaccine. However, Gibraltar will not need UK holidaymakers to be tested or vaccinated. On the other hand, Israel will reopen on the 23rd of May only to groups of foreign travellers who have had both doses of the vaccination.

🟠  Amber List Countries:

This list covers Britons’ most popular holiday destinations such as Spain, France, Italy, and Greece. Transport secretary Grant Shapps said that travellers should not be travelling to these destinations at the moment. However, those who go against that guidance must take two PCR tests post-arrival. They will also need to self-isolate at home for ten days, although they can decrease that time if they take an additional negative test on the fifth day from arrival.

🔴  Red List Countries:

Those returning to the UK from red list countries must quarantine in a hotel for 11 nights at the cost of £1,750. Countries like Brazil, India, South Africa, and the United Arab Emirates are among the red lists. Turkey and The Maldives will be added to the red list on Wednesday the 12th of May.

Which Green travel list countries are holidaymakers allowed to visit?

Green travel list countries have fewer travel requirements. This depends partially on the number of active Covid-19 cases in each country and the success of their vaccine rollout. However, Scotland, Wales and Northern Ireland have not announced programs to restart foreign travels as yet. The UK government warns that not all the green travel lists are currently open to UK tourists and should be regularly checked for updates.

The 12 Green travel list countries and territories:

  • Portugal
  • Israel
  • Singapore
  • Australia
  • New Zealand
  • Brunei
  • Iceland
  • Gibraltar
  • Falkland Islands
  • Faroe Islands
  • South Georgia and the Sandwich Islands
  • St Helena, Tristan de Cunha and Ascension Island

The list of travel destinations will be reviewed every three weeks as countries can be added or removed with very short notice.

What are the UK travel requirements to visit a green travel list country?

  • A private lateral flow or PCR test must be taken in their holiday destination before returning to the UK
  • A passenger locator form must be filled online before leaving their destination
  • Take a private PCR test on or before day two of their arrival in England

The cost of private PCR tests can differ between suppliers, but the transport secretary said it is expected for the prices to come down to less than £50 per person. 

In conclusion: 

  • Red travel list: Hotel quarantine for ten days & pre-departure test, plus PCR test on day 2 and 8.
  • Amber travel list: Home-quarantine for ten days & pre-departure test, plus PCR test on day 2 and 8. “Test to release” option on the fifth day.
  • Green travel list: Pre-departure test & PCR test on or before day 2.
green travel list

Related posts

Greece shifts the decision to permit Brits to holiday with stern quarantine laws

Sabina Juriansz

Slovenia’s flag carrier files for bankruptcy

Olivia Anderson

Does Boris Johnson’s election victory affect British travellers?

Olivia Anderson

Leave a Comment